A call for award nominations and submissions is issued in the fall of each year, and the recipients are announced the following spring.

The Isadora Awards

Initiated by The Dance Centre in 1999, the Awards recognize professionals who have made an outstanding contribution to dance in BC, and provide the professional community with an opportunity to celebrate its own achievements.

Award recipients:
2018: Julia Taffe
2017: Serge Bennathan
2016: Karen Jamieson
2015: Jennifer Mascall
2013: Ziyian Kwan 
2012: Su-Feh Lee 
2010: Paras Terezakis (choreography), David Raymond (performance)
2009: Rosario Ancer (choreography), Natalie LeFebvre-Gnam (performance), Barbara Bourget (teaching)
2008: Lola MacLaughlin (choreography), Noam Gagnon (performance)
2007: Wen Wei Wang (choreography), Alison Denham (performance), Judith Garay (teaching)
2006: Joe Laughlin (choreography), Ron Stewart (performance), Jai Govinda (teaching)
2005: Crystal Pite (choreography)
2004: Chick Snipper (choreography), Anne Cooper (performance), Peter Bingham (teaching)
2003: Kathleen McDonagh (performance)
1999: Susan Elliott (performance)

The Iris Garland Emerging Choreographer Award

Launched in 2004, the Award is valued at $5,000 and is presented every two years to a senior dance student or emerging dance artist between 19 and 35 years of age who demonstrates exceptional choreographic ability and the potential to realize a future in the creative realm of dance.

Award recipients:
2017: Julianne Chapple
2015: Deanna Peters
2013: Vanessa Goodman
2011: Shannon Moreno
2009: Sara Coffin
2007: Chengxin Wei
2005: Amber Funk Barton

The Lola Award

Lola MacLaughlin: photo by Nick Seiflow

Photo: Lola MacLaughlin by Nick Seiflow

This biennial award is designed to encourage and facilitate the work of senior/mid-career choreographers. The Award is in memory of the much-loved choreographer and Artistic Director who passed away in 2009: it is supported by the Lola MacLaughlin Endowment Fund with the Vancouver Foundation and administered by The Dance Centre.

Award recipients:
2018: Justine A. Chambers
2016: Rosario Ancer
2014: Su-Feh Lee
2012: Crystal Pite

The Santa Aloi Award

The Santa Aloi Award was available for three years (2010-2012) and awarded up to $4,500 to one choreographer annually to hire dancers to rehearse and perform new work.

Award recipients:
2012: Danny Nielsen
2011: Jennifer Clarke
2010: Sara Coffin

Make a donation to support an Award or Fund