Read our Blog

Posted on May 25, 2018 in General
Announcing Dance Award Recipients

We are proud to announce the recipients of two awards that acknowledge the achievements of British Columbia’s choreographers. Julia Taffe, Artistic Director of Aeriosa, receives the Isadora Award for Excellence in Dance in recognition of her contribution to BC’s dance scene; and Justine A Chambers is the recipient of the biennial Lola Award.

Mirna Zagar, Executive Director of The Dance Centre, said: “We are very pleased to have the opportunity to support and acknowledge the achievements of these two exceptional artists. These awards illustrate the depth of artistry and the diversity of choreographic approaches and investigations in British Columbia’s dance community today. They also attest to how dance manifests itself in our society both on and off stage, how this ever-evolving art form transforms and challenges the traditional understanding of what dance is and what it can be, and how dance can magically reshape our world and contribute to new connections to our environment.

The annual Isadora Award, named after the great dance pioneer Isadora Duncan (1878-1927), was instituted by The Dance Centre in 1999 to recognize and celebrate the achievements of the dance profession in British Columbia. Members of the dance community are invited to nominate artists for the award, and an independent jury of professionals working in the field selects recipients based on specific criteria. Julia Taffe will receive an Isadora Award sculpture which was specially designed by the eminent glass artist Mary Filer, fully subsidized rehearsal space at Scotiabank Dance Centre to the value of $1000, and $500 cash. Previous Isadora recipients have included Susan Elliott, Peter Bingham, Chick Snipper, Crystal Pite, Joe Laughlin, Wen Wei Wang, Judith Garay, and Jennifer Mascall.

The Lola Award is designed to encourage and facilitate the work of mid-career and senior choreographers. The $10,000 award is presented every two years. It is supported by the Lola McLaughlin Endowment Fund with the Vancouver Foundation and administered by The Dance Centre. The Award acknowledges Justine A. Chambers’ commitment to opening new conceptual and experiential spaces for audiences and performers, and her work as a thinker, collaborator across disciplines, and catalyst who explores and creates new ground for embodied performance. Tony Giacinti, Lola’s husband and a major contributor to the establishment of the award, says: “We hope this Award will reflect and nurture some of the essence of Lola’s spirit, artistic approach and vision, and contribute to the growth of a Vancouver aesthetic that reaches beyond our shores.” Since its initiation the Award has been presented to Crystal Pite (2012), Lee Su-Feh (2014) and Rosario Ancer (2016).

Congratulations Julia and Justine!

Photos courtesy of the artists.

Read more about Julia Taffe 

Read more about Justine Chambers 


comments powered by Disqus