Read our Blog

Posted on July 15, 2015 in General
Announcing Dance Awards Recipients

Deanna Peters and Jennifer Mascall: photo Chris Randle

The Dance Centre is proud to announce the recipients of awards that acknowledge both the achievements and the potential of British Columbia’s choreographers. Jennifer Mascall receives the Isadora Award for Excellence in Dance in recognition of her contribution to BC’s dance scene through a career spanning over thirty years; and Deanna Peters is the recipient of the biennial Iris Garland Emerging Choreographer Award which supports the work of emerging artists.

The annual Isadora Award, named after the great dance pioneer Isadora Duncan (1878-1927), was instituted by The Dance Centre in 1999 to recognize and celebrate the achievements of the dance profession in British Columbia. Members of the dance community are invited to nominate artists for the award, and an independent jury of professionals working in the field selects recipients based on specific criteria. Jennifer Mascall receives the Isadora Award in recognition of her work as a choreographer, mentor, teacher and advocate for dance throughout a career spanning over thirty years. She receives an Isadora Award sculpture specially created by the eminent glass artist Mary Filer, fully subsidized rehearsal space at Scotiabank Dance Centre to the value of $1000, and $500 cash. Previous Isadora recipients have included Susan Elliott, Anne Cooper, Peter Bingham, Chick Snipper, Crystal Pite, Joe Laughlin, Wen Wei Wang, Judith Garay, Paras Terezakis, Barbara Bourget and Lee Su-Feh.

The Iris Garland Emerging Choreographer Award was established in memory of the pioneering educator who developed Simon Fraser University’s dance program. The biennial Award provides $5000 to assist an emerging artist between 19 and 35 years of age who demonstrates exceptional choreographic potential, to produce their work at Scotiabank Dance Centre in Vancouver. Through this Award, Deanna Peters will premiere Cut Away, her first full-length work, in 2016. Previous Award recipients are Amber Funk Barton (2005), Chengxin Wei (2007), Sara Coffin (2009), Shannon Moreno (2011) and Vanessa Goodman (2013).

Congratulations to Jennifer and Deanna!


Read more about awards administered by The Dance Centre.

Photo: Deanna Peters (L) and Jennifer Mascall (R) by Chris Randle


comments powered by Disqus